On March 27, 2020, the President signed the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security Act (CARES Act) into Law. An extension of the CARES Act, the Continued Assistance Act of 2021 (CAA), was signed into law on December 27, 2020. On March 11, 2021 an additional extension under the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (ARPA) was signed into law. As guided by the Department of Labor, these are the various programs available to eligible Nevadans under the Acts.


Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA)

Unemployment support for otherwise ineligible workers, including self-employed.

View More  

Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC)

Additional weeks of benefits for regular unemployment exhaustees.

View More  

Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC)

Additional benefits added to each week of regular unemployment or PUA.

View More  
LWA-People Gathering

Lost Wages Assistance

An additional $300 added to each week of Unemployment Insurance (UI) ...

View More  

Unemployment filing procedural waiver

Unemployment Filing Procedural Waiver

Job Search Requirement

The work search requirement relaxed during the pandemic expires May 1, 2021. Claimants should be aware that the work search requirement is back in full force starting on May 2nd requiring all claimants to fulfill the job search requirements in order to keep receiving benefits.

Claimants will not be required to register for employment services in-person at Nevada JobConnect Offices or any other local employment offices within their area until these offices have reopened. Currently, claimants can log into EmployNV.gov and search for work. Anyone receiving unemployment benefits (regular UI or PUA) has an existing registration in EmployNV, so there is no need to create a new account. Once logged in, there are jobs to search through, labor market information, a resume builder and information about training opportunities.

Out of state claimants will also be required to register for employment services in their state until further notice. (NRS 612.375, NAC 612.170)


Suspend Waiting Period

As instructed by the Governor, the 7-day waiting period (i.e., the waiting period of time between applying for and receiving unemployment insurance benefits) has also been suspended to ensure claimants receive their benefits as quickly as possible.

Able & Available Issues

Able & Available Issues

An Administrative action has been put into place to resolve or remove most Able & Available issues created beginning 03/15/20. While not all issues will be resolved, those that are cleared and have no other issues requiring adjudication on the claim will be allowed to proceed with processing and payment on the claim.

Deductible Income Issues

Deductible Income Issues

Claims with a Deductible Income issue will not be paid for a one-week period beginning the effective date of the claim. Issues will still be adjudicated and adjusted accordingly, including any FPUC payments that the claimant may be entitled to, and payments will be paid starting the second week of the claim, if all other eligibility requirements are met. This action affects deductible income issues including separation pay issues such as vacation pay, severance pay, wages in lieu and paid vacation. This action does not apply to pension pay issues as these issues do not fall within the separation pay category.

Important Information

For Claimants

For Claimants

How to bypass the Weekly Work Search Activity Page and other claimant specific information

View More  
For Employers

For Employers

Employer Frequently Asked Questions and COVID-19 and other employer specific information

View More  

Additional Resources

Helpful Information and sites

View More  

NV Relay 711 or 800-326-6868
TTY 775-687-5353
An equal opportunity employer/program.
Auxiliary aids and services available on request by individuals with disabilities