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Facts About  
Age Discrimination 

Nevada state law and the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA) 
protect individuals who are 40 years of age or older from employment 
discrimination based on age.  The laws’ protections apply to both employees and 

job applicants.  It is unlawful to discriminate against a person because of his/her 
age with respect to any term, condition, or privilege of employment -- including, 

but not limited to, hiring, firing, promotion, layoff, compensation, benefits, job 
assignments, and training. 

It is also unlawful to retaliate against an individual for opposing employment 
practices that discriminate based on age or for filing an age discrimination charge, 

testifying, or participating in any way in an investigation, proceeding, or litigation 
regarding age discrimination. 

Apprenticeship Programs 

It is generally unlawful for apprenticeship programs, including joint labor-

management apprenticeship programs, to discriminate on the basis of an 
individual's age.  Age limitations in apprenticeship programs are valid only if they 

fall within certain specific exceptions under the law or if the federal government 
grants a specific exemption. 

Job Notices and Advertisements 

It is unlawful to include age preferences, limitations, or specifications in job notices 

or advertisements.  As a narrow exception to that general rule, a job notice or 
advertisement may specify an age limit in the rare circumstances where age is 
shown to be a "bona fide occupational qualification" (BFOQ) reasonably necessary 

to the essence of the business. 

Pre-Employment Inquiries 

The law does not specifically prohibit an employer from asking an applicant's age or 
date of birth.  However, because such inquiries may deter older workers from 

applying for employment or may otherwise indicate possible intent to discriminate 
based on age, the Nevada Equal Rights Commmission will closely scrutinize 

requests for age information to make sure that the inquiry was made for a lawful 
purpose, rather than for a discriminatory one.  
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Benefits 

Employers can not deny benefits to older employees.  An employer may reduce 

benefits based on age only if the cost of providing the reduced benefits to older 
workers is the same as the cost of providing benefits to younger workers. 

Waivers of Age Discrimination Claim Rights   

At an employer's request, an individual may agree to waive his/her age 

discrimination rights or claims under state and federal law. However, federal law 
sets out specific minimum standards that must be met in order for a waiver to be 
considered knowing and voluntary and, therefore, valid.  Among other 

requirements, a valid waiver: (1) must be in writing and be understandable; (2) 
must specifically refer to ADEA rights or claims; (3) may not waive rights or claims 

that may arise in the future; (4) must be in exchange for valuable consideration; 
(5) must advise the individual in writing to consult an attorney before signing the
waiver; and (6) must provide the individual at least 21 days to consider the

agreement and at least 7 days to revoke the agreement after signing it.  In
addition, if an employer requests a waiver of age discrimination claims in

connection with an exit incentive program or other employment termination
program, the minimum requirements for a valid waiver are more extensive.

You should consult an attorney if you are asked to sign a waiver of any of your 
rights under state or federal discrimination laws. 

If You Think You Have Been Discriminated Against 
Because Of Age, Contact  

The Nevada Equal Rights Commission 

Nevada Equal Rights Commission 
1325 Corporate Blvd., Room 115 
Reno, NV  89502 
PH:   775-823-6690 

Nevada Equal Rights Commission 
7220 Bermuda Road, Suite 100
Las Vegas, NV 89119
PH:   702-486-7161  
Fax:  702-486-7054  Fax:  775-688-1292 

 

Or visit us on the Internet 

www.detr.nv.gov/NERC
A complaint must be filed within 300 days of the date of the alleged discriminatory conduct. 

You may also contact the federal Equal Employment Opportunity Commission  (EEOC) 
at 1-800-669-4000 or on the Internet at  http://www.eeoc.gov/ 

An equal opportunity employer/program 
Auxiliary aids and services available upon 

request for individuals with disabilities  
TTY (775) 687-5353 

Relay 711 or (800) 326-6868 

mailto:NERC-Outreach@nvdetr.org
http://www.detr.state.nv.us/
http://www.eeoc.gov/

